Fueling My Addiction: No Bake Peanut Butter Cookies

March 18, 2011 at 3:20 pm 6 comments

Hi, my name is Lara, and I’m a peanut butter addict.

Don’t try to cure me. I can’t be fixed. If loving peanut butter is wrong, I don’t want to be right.

When I stumbled across these No Bake Peanut Butter Cookies on How Sweet It Is, I knew I had to make them as soon as I could. By the way, I am also addicted to no bake recipes. My parents had a party a few days back, and I took that as the perfect opportunity to make these. They are so easy (like most of my recipes, haha) and out of this world delicious! They aren’t the healthiest things ever, but they are so satisfying (thanks to the peanut butter) in moderation!

No-Bake Peanut Butter Cookies

Adapted from How Sweet It Is

Makes about 20 cookies – I doubled the recipe and made almost 60 smaller cookies.

  • 1 1/4 cups graham cracker crumbs
  • 1/2 + 1 tablespoon cup creamy peanut butter
  • 1/3 cup brown rice syrup – I used agave syrup. You can sub corn or maple syrup.
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla extract
  • 1/4 cup sugar
  • 1/2 teaspoon cinnamon
  • Pinch of ginger – I didn’t use this because I didn’t have any.
  • Optional: chocolate (for drizzling)

Instructions:

Step 1: Make graham crackers into crumbs.

I did this by putting the grahams into a plastic bag and smashing the bag with a peanut butter jar.

This worked pretty well, but I should have done it longer because there were still some larger crumbs.

You want a flour-like consistency, or else forming the cookies will be hard. I also suggest using a food processor or Vitamix to get this consistency.

Step 2: Add the rest of the ingredients.

Pool of peanut butter and agave syrups = makes me drool!

Vanilla river.

Final “layer” of ingredients.

Step 3: Mix it all up! The mixture will be crumbly. It may take a while for the mixture to come together, but it eventually will.

Step 4: Form dough into uniform balls.


x2

The original recipe suggests 1-inch balls. I made them a bit smaller (maybe 3/4-inch). It’s really up to you and your preferences. Since these are no bake, the size won’t affect the “baking” outcome.

If the balls are sticking together well enough, add a bit of peanut butter or agave. I didn’t have to do this.

Drool!

Step 5: If you want cookies (and not balls), either flatten first with your fingers and then indent with fork or flatten with fork while making indentations. I did the latter.

They look like true peanut butter cookies and taste like them, too, but they are no bake! Yay!

Step 6: If you want to “ice” with chocolate, melt the chocolate and drizzle on top.

You can either melt the chocolate in a double broiler… or be lazy like me and do it in the microwave.

Drool… Boy, my keyboard is getting dirty. 😉

I topped 1/2 of the cookies in chocolate just in case some of the party guests didn’t like chocolate. But who was I kidding? Who doesn’t love chocolate and peanut butter together? Stupid people.

And there y’all have it! No Bake Peanut Butter Cookies, with a chocolate topping option!

Now, go out and make them. I promise you won’t be sorry!

Question: What is your favorite flavor combination in cookies or other baked cookies?

I love PB + chocolate and PB + J.

(Source)

If only… Haha.

Entry filed under: Chocolate, Cookies, Dessert, Peanut Butter, Recipe. Tags: , , , , , , .

Recent Restaurant Eats Chocolate PB Cup Cupakes w/PB Frosting

6 Comments Add your own

  • 1. eliza  |  March 20, 2011 at 6:03 pm

    yay even more good ideas for treats to make friends for their birthdays 🙂

    Reply
  • 3. Katie  |  March 23, 2011 at 5:48 pm

    These look so yummy! I love how sweet it is, her blog is amazing! I made her cupcakes for 2 last week!!!

    Have a great night!!!

    Reply
    • 4. sixtimestheyum  |  March 29, 2011 at 4:58 am

      Thanks! I’m addicted to How Sweet It Is. I love the variety of her recipes!

      Reply
  • 5. Lettuce and Lace  |  March 26, 2011 at 7:50 am

    I am a peanut-butter addict as well…I would put it on everything if I could!

    Reply
    • 6. sixtimestheyum  |  March 29, 2011 at 5:01 am

      Diddo! PB is one of those super versatile ingredients and can be put on everything from oatmeal (yum!) and cookies to salad (in PB dressing) and celery (plus raisins = delish!). But my favorite is when it’s eaten straight from the container with a finger or spoon!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Recent Posts

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 4 other followers

Archives


