No Bake Nutella Chocolate Cookie Birthday Cake

March 3, 2011 at 10:40 am 9 comments

“Birthdays are good for you. Statistics show that the people who have the most live the longest.” (Larry Lorenzoni)

I love birthdays? Who doesn’t? Stupid people. Not only do I love celebrating my own birthday, I love celebrating other people’s birthdays as well. There is just something about growing a year older, wiser, closer to 21, etc, etc that makes me excited!

One of my favorite parts about birthdays is birthday cake. Who’s with me? No matter what kind of cake it is (cheesecake? traditional with lots of frosting? chocolate? vanilla? carrot?), birthday cake is the bomb.

When I learned about a week ago that a friend’s birthday was coming up, I knew I had to make one. Baking a cake was out of the question. Buying one was a “maybe,” but I didn’t necessarily have time to go out to a grocery store and purchase one. So, instead, I got creative! I started with Monica‘s recipe for Raw Chocolate Oat Cookies and adapted it to suit my needs and wants. My friend loves Nutella, so I came up with a No Bake Nutella Chocolate Cookie Birthday Cake. (How’s that for a mouthful of words-and food?) Sounds absolutely amazing, doesn’t it? Want to make your own? It’s super, duper easy and requires only 4 ingredients. Let’s get started!

No Bake Nutella Chocolate Cookie Birthday Cake

Ingredients:

  • 1/2 cup Oats
  • 1/2 cup Nutella – You can substitute another chocolate hazelnut spread or any nut butter for this.
  • 1/2 cup Agave Nectar – You can use honey, maple syrup, or another liquid sweetener.
  • 1/4 cup Cocoa Powder – I used unsweetened
  • Optional: Extra Nutella (for frosting)
  • Optional: Toppings (like chocolate chips, sprinkles, marshmallows, candy, and cookies)

You can double or triple the recipe if you want to make a bigger or thicker cake.

Photo of Nutella for your drooling pleasure…

Yum!

Instructions:

Step 1: Mix all ingredients together in a bowl.

Oats + Agave + Nutella + Cocoa Powder = Chocolate heaven!

Mr. Smiling Cat-Duck says, “Hi!”

Or maybe he said “Bye” since he turned into…


Step 2: Flatten into an even circle on a small plate.

Before plating the dough, I coated the plate in coconut oil (you can use cooking spray), so the cookie wouldn’t stick to the plate so much.

If you want to make multiple, smaller cookies, you can just form them into even balls/flat cookies.

Step 3: Frost and decorate the cookie with Nutella and other toppings.

I used white chocolate chips to make a ’19’ on the cake (the friend’s new age). I love the look of white on black.

>> End <<

This cake is easy to make and requires very few ingredients and supplies. It’s very rich, chocolate-y, and somewhat chewy. The birthday girl approved, and I think you will, too!

Question: What’s your favorite type of cake?

Reminder: please submit your Reader Requests! I’ll be home in less than a week, meaning kitchen access!

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

Cottage Cheese and Veggies Sandwich Recent Restaurant Eats

9 Comments Add your own

  • 1. eliza  |  March 3, 2011 at 1:24 pm

    I’m totally gonna try and make this for a friend’s birthday here 🙂

    Reply
    • 2. sixtimestheyum  |  March 4, 2011 at 7:40 am

      Awesome! Tell me how it turns out and how s/he like it! The great thing about this recipe is it’s super customizable to suit anyone’s likes. Let me know if you want any more flavor suggestions. 🙂

      Reply
  • 3. Sweet Tooth Runner  |  March 8, 2011 at 12:41 pm

    OHMY this looks so AMAZING!! I am seriously BOOKMARKING this!! Can’t believe it only has 4 ingredients too!! Drooling…mmm… 🙂

    Reply
    • 4. sixtimestheyum  |  March 10, 2011 at 5:16 pm

      Thanks! I’m so happy you like it! Please let me know if you make it. I’d love to hear how it comes out and what you think. 🙂

      Reply
  • 5. Flo (Coconut Chronicles)  |  March 11, 2011 at 9:47 am

    OH MY GOSH! This looks so good! (Drool)!
    My birthday is in 2 months (May 8th) and I’m already thinking about what cake I want for breakfast… yes, breakfast. It’s a necessity on birthdays 😉 This is definitely in the runnings 😉

    Reply
    • 6. sixtimestheyum  |  March 14, 2011 at 11:40 am

      Happy amost-birthday! Cake for breakfast is oh so necessary on birthdays (and maybe even on any ol’ day). Thanks for the compliment and I hope whatever you choose for your special day will be completely drool-worthy and fantastic!

      Reply
  • 7. Jenny  |  April 9, 2011 at 10:27 pm

    Omg this recipe is love! So happy I found your blog. I recently made Fitnessista breakfast cookie with pb but it would be so much more decadent with nutella 😉

    Reply
    • 8. Lara @ six times the yum  |  April 10, 2011 at 5:19 pm

      Thanks girl! I’m already in love the Fitnessista breakfast cookie, but I never thought about using Nutella instead of the PB. Thanks for being my inspirations (after I inspired you). 🙂

      Reply
  • 9. Choc Chip Uru  |  April 9, 2012 at 5:35 am

    This is genius! Fast easy and looks like heaven 😀

    Happy Easter!
    Choc Chip Uru

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Recent Posts

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 4 other followers

Archives


