Daily Buzz: The Good and the Bad of Coffee

February 22, 2011 at 9:16 am Leave a comment

BuzzBuzz…

(Photo Source)

I’ve not always been a coffee drinker. Only in the past few years have I drunk coffee-products more than once or twice a month. I’ve slowly moved up the “caffeine” ladder. The first time I ever drank coffee was in 10th grade in the form of a Mocha Frappuccino Blended Beverage from Starbucks. Let’s just say I was pretty much bouncing off the walls after my first drink. Caffeine high! Haha. Since then, I’ve moved my way from Frappuccinos to Mochas to Caramel Macchiatos to Skinny Vanilla Lattes to straight coffee, all in stages. I started drinking “straight” coffee (with nonfat milk and Splenda) at the beginning of this school year. It was 90F here in Boston for a few weeks. Heat plus heat-induced fatigue called for iced coffees. I don’t drink coffee on a daily basis, just when I need or crave it.

(Photo Source)

There you go. That’s my Coffee Story. Because you totally needed to know! So, why am I sharing that with you? Well, the topic of today’s post is coffee and it’s benefits/drawbacks. Coffee is a very relevent topic. I don’t know many people who have never eaten coffee in any shape or form. I bet you’ve at least had a mocha or a piece of chocolate cake with it. (Adding coffee to chocolate or chocolate cake intensifies the cake, without give them an extreme taste of coffee.)

As for the benefits/drawbacks of coffee, there are constantly new studies and reports on whether coffee is good or bad. Here are some of the basics (and generally agreed upon concepts):

A few benefits of coffee:

  • Rich is antioxidants
  • Aids in weight loss – Not only does it help you burn extra calories by boosting your metabolism, it can also give you instant energy boost before a workout and help you exercise “better” and longer.
  • Improves brain function and productivity
  • Can help lower risks of cancer and type 2 diabetes

However, like everything in life, drinking coffee does come with some drawbacks, including:

  • Addictive – If you drink it regularly, and try to go a day or more without it, you may experience withdrawal symptoms including weakness and headaches.
  • May lead to weight gain – If you drink too much (which increases stress-hormones and -eating) or add high-calorie additions, you may gain weight instead.
  • Anxiety – If you drink more than normal, you may overstimulate your body and cause anxiety.
  • Dehydration – Coffee is a potent diuretic and having it in excess can lead to dehydration. Coffee may also dry out skin.

Source: “Coffee – The Good and the Bad” by Be Well Buzz

Lesson to be learned? Coffee is great but drink it in moderation. Limit yourself to 2-3 cups daily (I definitely don’t drink that much, so I’m good). Don’t go crazy with the add-ins either. Also, drink a glass or two of water after/during your coffee to prevent dehydration or headaches.

Question 1: What’s your favorite form of coffee?

Question 2: If you have any reader’s requests for future post topics, please share!! Also, I’ll be home for spring break in a few weeks, which means I’ll have access to a kitchen. So excited! Please let me know if there are any baking/cooking recipes or issues you’d like me to write about. You can expect multiple posts during that time and after.

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

No-Bake Peanut Butter Chocolate Chip Bars Cottage Cheese and Veggies Sandwich

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Recent Posts

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 3 other followers

Archives


