Dining Hall Eats: Veggie Burger Salad

February 4, 2011 at 7:51 pm 2 comments

As a pescatarian (a vegetarian that eats fish), it is important I make sure I get enough protein, vitamins, etc, etc to keep myself full and healthy. Well, last semester, I found is difficult to do this. It’s not that BU’s dining halls don’t offer pescatarian options; it’s that those options are mostly not healthy. (Fried fish, fried tofu, you get the idea.) I did not make the conscious effort to make sure I always ate protein, and unfortunately, that messed with my body. Truth be told, I’ve had protein problems ever since I became a pescatarian.

Because I wasn’t eating enough protein, my sugar cravings were out of control and I was constantly snacking. My body often felt “off” and I gained weight despite working out. Well, I wanted this all to change.

One of my goals for 2011 was to make sure I ate enough protein and incorporate protein in all (or most, just to be realistic) my meals. So far, I’ve been pretty successful at keeping to this goal. I’ve been finding smart and sneaky ways to get enough protein. On days I eat a lots of protein, I’ve noticed an increase in my energy and a decrease in snack and sugary cravings. I believe it’s also helping me achieve my healthy, happy weight. 🙂

Not sure why protein is important or how much you should be getting? Read this article.

One of the meals I’ve made up over the weeks is the Veggie Patty Salad. Basically, I ask the “Grill Works” griller in the dining hall to make me a veggie burger without the bun. Then, I’d make a salad and combine the two. My dressing? Mustard + Ketchup.

Lettuce + spinach + sprouts + mushrooms

I love the look of the green and white veggies against the red place. Beautiful!

I love mushrooms! Recently, I read that they help fight cancer and boost the immune system. This is great news considering no one wants cancer and I live in a VERY cold place. I can use all the boosting I can get, and I pile mushrooms on top of anything (like pizza)!

Veggie burger patty

I love veggie burgers! This particular one is from one of the bigger dining halls on campus. I personally prefer the kind from the dining hall near my dorm, but both are still delicious!!

Veggie burgers have great nutritional stats. According to this article by EatingWell….

“While veggie burgers may not provide the iron, zinc and vitamin B12 found in beef, they fortunately also lack the high fat (over a third of it saturated), high cholesterol and calories found in a typical 3-ounce beef burger. Veggie burgers offer fiber, a variety of trace minerals and plant phytochemicals. Because most are soy-based, they also deliver high-quality protein.” Read the article for more info.

If you eat store-bought ones, make sure you choose protein-filled ones. According to the article, try to look for veggie burgers with at least 10 grams of protein, 4 grams of fiber and contained under 350 mg of sodium. The same article also has 4 veggie burger suggestions in case you want some suggestions.

Since I don’t know the exact nutrition contents of the veggie burgers I eat in the dining halls, I may start packing my own (bought from a grocery store) to make sure I’m getting a lot of protein and know exactly what is going into what I’m eating.

Juicy sliced tomatoes from the burger toppings bar

I cut up the burger patty and tomatoes to make them eater to eat and to add to the salad.

My salad “dressing” consisted of a mix of mustard and ketchup. Not only are they low in calories, both have many health benefits. (Click for a link: mustard benefits and ketchup benefits)

Put it all together on a fork and you have something delicious! I love the combination and it keeps me full for hours thanks to the protein from the veggie burger and from the fiber and volume from the veggies.

This totally contradicts my point, but it’s so true it’s funny and I felt like sharing.

Hahaha, Toothpaste for Dinner

Question: What is your favorite way to incorporate protein (or any other important nutrient) into your meals?

Comment below!

Entry filed under: Dining Hall Eats, Dinner. Tags: , , , .

Dining Hall Eats: Oatmeal Introduction No-Bake Peanut Butter Chocolate Chip Bars

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Jackie Hwang  |  February 6, 2011 at 11:29 pm

    your posts always inspire me to eat whatever you’re posting about… last time, it was about oatmeal, and now, I feel like eating a salad!! =D your photos look beautiful, as always!

    Reply
    • 2. sixtimestheyum  |  February 13, 2011 at 1:38 pm

      Haha! I’m like that, too. I often crave foods I see on other food blogs. 🙂 Thanks!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Recent Posts

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 4 other followers

Archives


