Vanilla (Non)Pound Cake Dessert w/ Strawberries & Cream

May 23, 2010 at 3:25 pm 2 comments

Me and the wikipedia application (wikitouch) on my iPhone are best buds. I search for all kinds of things on it, especially the origin and “definition” of certain foods. I find this kind of information really interesting. (They work as great conversation starters.)

For example, did you know that “German Chocolate Cake” isn’t actually German (like from the country)? (My mom would’ve believe me that this sort of chocolate cake was called “German Chocolate Cake” because German’s don’t put coconut in their chocolate cakes.) The original recipe (published in a newspaper) called for “Baker’s [a brand] German’s  Sweet Chocolate,” which was created by Samuel German. When the recipe was first published, it was named “German’s Chocolate Cake,” but the ” ‘s ” was dropped off in later publications. Interesting, huh?

So, what gave “pound cake” its name? Well, traditional pound cakes are make with a pound of four ingredients: flour, butter, sugar, and eggs. Yup, this definitely doesn’t sound like the kind of recipe a health nut I would normally make. However, when my mom told me that family was going to come over for a BBQ dinner last Friday, I knew I had to make a dessert including pound cake. In my head, BBQing = summer = berries = pound cake with strawberries and whipped cream!

Guess what? I found a recipe that would let me have more cake (and nutrition) for less (calories)! I had a few online options but decided on this recipe from Cooking Light. I halved the recipe and made it in one 8″x4″ loaf pan (like the tip at the top of the recipe). There were 8 of us, and I figured that this amount would be perfect considering that it would be paired with a large amount of strawberries and whipped cream. I didn’t used a specific recipe for the strawberries or the whipped cream. I cleaned and cut up two large containers of fresh strawberries and mixed them with 2 tablespoons of sugar to draw the juices out of the strawberries. (The juices and sugar coated the strawberries with deliciou syrup.) I then whipped the cream. (I estimate on the amount.) I didn’t sweeten the cream because the strawberries and pound cake were already so sweet.

I used a bread knife to cut because of it’s sharp and great for cutting bread-like objects food.

To serve: Cut the loaf/loaves into slices (I did 8), and put one slice on each plate/bowl.

Add strawberries and cream to each plate/bowl. (I had maybe 3/4 to 1 cup strawberries and 2 tablespoons cream per bowl.)

Don’t those strawberries look delicious!

The finished product:

Verdict? This is a perfect summer dessert. It was light(!), which is great on hot days. The pound cake was a nice texture and sweet-but-not-too-sweet. There was the slightest hint of buttermilk and vanilla. (Pound cake is a very versatile cake and can be used in all sorts of desserts.) Each bowl was bursting with strawberries, which were so fresh and sweet. (Feel free to use any other seasonal berries!) The cream added a nice balance to the entire dessert. I consider this a health alternative dessert (to other dessert options), especially compared to it’s original “pound of 4 ingredients” version. The fruit makes it even more healthy. This dessert travels very well, since each component can be contained and transported separately and each person could serve themselves, if you’d like. Great for potlucks!


My family + extended family showing off the fruits of my love. They highly approved!

Left to right: Mr. Cirannek, Markus (my dad), Bastian (my brother who loves me who loves to mess with me), Vanessa, Heike (my mom), Lukas (my cousin… my uncle dad’s cousin), Mrs. Cirannek.

I hope you try this recipe out and comment on this post to let me know what you think!! Any suggestions? Questions? All is welcome!

Please subscribe to my blog to get email notifications when ever I post something new! I hope to begin posting much more regularly. I’m going to try posting twice (or more!) a week. Please email me or comment on this post any suggestions you have for future posts!

Love,

Lara

PS. I am still working on the picture quality. The camera I am currently using takes really high quality photos, which comes at the cost of really big file sizes. (The bigger the file, the more space it takes on the internet servers & I am only allowed a certain space amount, so I need to conserve space.) I am working on making the file size smaller, while still keeping good photo quality.

Entry filed under: Dessert.

Quick & Easy “Crack” Cookie Bars Away at a Camp Job

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Jackie  |  May 24, 2010 at 5:25 pm

    THIS LOOKS AMAZING!!!! WOW, IT LOOK SSOOOO GOOD AND SOOO APPETIZING..!! have you ever thought of submitting for a food magazine or something? you have talent. ❤

    Reply
  • 2. Sudi  |  May 27, 2010 at 8:59 am

    You are such a good baker!!! Your pound cake looks so… neat. I tried making muffins once- they tasted ok, but they looked like giant blobs………

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Recent Posts

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 3 other followers

Archives


