Raw Food ≠ Sushi

April 23, 2010 at 4:02 pm 6 comments

"Halva Chia Thumpprint Cookies" 1Any American Idol (AI) fans in the (internet) house? That’s what I thought!

I’ve been an Idol fan for about two full seasons. My mom and I would spend a few hours each week sitting in front of the TV, rooting for our favorites. One or two months ago, my family was invited to (by Rebecca) attended its first AI party and has continued attending every (well, almost every) Tuesday ever since. Although my mom and I are the only true AI fans in the family, my brother (whose friend also attends the party) and dad also seem to have fun.

For those of you are completely confused as to what an “AI Party” is, it’s an AI viewing party with dinner and friends (at least that’s our version). Although the parties used to generally include pizza, salad(!), and drink (lots of beer for the adults!), a few weeks ago, we began having theme nights. First came Greek night, then Mexican night (at my house), Thai night, Indian night (which I missed), and… Raw Food night.

“Raw Food? Like sushi?” For those of you not familiar with this diet (not like a weight loss kind of diet), “A Raw food diet is based on eating whole, live, nutritionally-dense organic uncooked and un-processed foods as a large percentage of your diet” (Raw Food Life). Why Raw Food? Well, it’s super healthy and good for your body for a number of reasons, including it’s rich in essential enzymes, vitamins, and minerals (many of which are believed to be killed when cooked above a certain temperature) and energizes you! The idea of Raw Food scares a lot of people because it’s so foreign, but believe me, not only is it super healthy (Have your cake and it to… and for dinner, anyone?), it’s SO delicious and easy to cook bake make. Take my "Halva Chia Thumpprint Cookies" 2word for it.

Back to AI theme nights. Rebecca suggested we had a Raw Food night, and I was totally up for it. I generally make dessert for the party (and love doing so) and was really looking forward to Raw Food night (which this past Tuesday). I had actually recently bought Ani’s Raw Food Desserts by Ani Phyo and was eager to try a recipe out. There were (are!) so many dessert recipes to choose from, but I knew I needed to choose something easy (I didn’t have a lot of time to make the dessert) and something that people would be excited about trying. I decided on “Halva Chia Thumbprint Cookies.” The book states “these fun cookies are inspires by a Balkan-style, calcium-rich, tahini-based halva.” The cookies contained 6 ingredients (sprouted chia seeds*, tahini, almond meal, salt, agave syrup, Medjool dates) and a homemade Raspberry sauce (raspberries, Medjool dates, agave syrup, water).

*I substituted flax seed for the chia seeds (which the book said would be okay) because I didn’t have the latter. Flax seeds have similar nutritional benefits.

I’m still trying to figure out the legal logistics of whether I can legally put published recipes on my blog or not. So, I’m going to just give you the link to the recipe (which I found on another website, and there’s a how-to video, too!).

I hope you’ve enjoyed this post, and I hope you give the recipe (and raw food) a try! Please leave a comment and tell me what you think (about this post or the recipe).

🙂 Lara

PS. Sorry about the bad photo quality. Long story short, my camera isn’t fully functional, so I had to use my camera. Problem will be fixed soon.

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: , , , , .

Finally… Taste of the Nation

6 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Markus  |  April 25, 2010 at 11:38 am

    Six ingredients from Six Times The Yum. It was super-yummy!

    Reply
  • 2. sixtimestheyum  |  April 25, 2010 at 12:45 pm

    Haha. I like your thinking (referring to “six”). =)

    Reply
  • 3. Sudi  |  April 29, 2010 at 4:41 pm

    What do they taste like??

    Reply
  • 4. sixtimestheyum  |  May 2, 2010 at 12:32 pm

    Good question Sudi. They taste similar to Larabars. They have a similar, but maybe less dense, texture as well. The nuts are a key player in the flavor, and the nuttiness pairs well with the sweetness from the dates and the raspberry sauce. Hope that helps.

    I’ll make sure to add a taste description to future recipes. It’s a smart thing to do, so thanks for bringing it up!

    Reply
  • 5. evee  |  May 2, 2010 at 8:55 pm

    they look really tasty

    Reply
  • 6. Jackie  |  May 16, 2010 at 11:57 am

    AWESOME…! =D

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Recent Posts

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 4 other followers

Archives


