Finally…

April 18, 2010 at 2:51 pm 8 comments

Gosh, has this blog been a long time coming!

As a second semester (high school) senior, I figured I should do something useful with my extra (or “extra”) time. At the same time, I was considering what useful, fun thing I should do with my love for baking. Since winter break, I’ve been baking a lot (at least once a week). I bake because it relaxes me and because I have a giant sweet tooth that must(!) be satisfied. As much as I’d love to eat all my goodies by myself, the “heath bug” in my mind yells at me I decide that maybe it wouldn’t be such a great idea to gain my Freshman 15 before I even start college. So, I began bringing my treats to school to share with my friends. Go figure: they loved (and still do, duh!) my baked goods, not to sound self-absorbed or anything. šŸ™‚

Despite my giant sweet tooth, I have a love (and a need) for healthy living. While I do indulge in unhealthy foods every once in a while, I try to bake, cook, and eat as healthy as possible.I also try to do other healthy living things, like exercising (running is a great relaxer).

Anyway, so I came to write and solve this equation:

love for baking/ food + healthy living + spare time = write a food blog!

So, here it is, “Six Times The Yum: A food blog devoted to my adventures in food, life, and (finding a healthy) balance.” I prefer to not put strict guidelines as to what will show up in this blog. I figure the blog will eventually find its natural flow. At the same time, I hope to focus on events in my life that relate to food, eg baking/cooking (recipes!), eating in and out, grocery shopping, product reviews, eating healthy, living healthy, and much more! I’ll focus on healthy items as much as possible, but you’ll definitely see a lot few less healthy items pop up every once in a while.

I hope you enjoy this blog and continue to come back and see what delicious things and posts I have for you. =)

Peace,

Lara

PS. Please leave a comment and let me know what you think! Any suggestions of things you’d like to see come up in this blog? Any questions? Leave a comment below or email me at: sixtimestheyum@gmail.com

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

Raw Food ā‰  Sushi

8 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Sudi  |  April 18, 2010 at 1:48 pm

    Yay! cute layout btw

    Reply
  • 2. sixtimestheyum  |  April 18, 2010 at 2:39 pm

    Thanks, Sudi! The layout was a layout option from wordpress.com, but I designed and made the header!

    Reply
  • 3. Rebecca  |  April 18, 2010 at 3:04 pm

    I’m looking forward to your healthy…and sometimes not so healthy…recipes, Lara! Congratulations on the launch of your blog!

    Reply
  • 4. evee  |  April 19, 2010 at 11:42 am

    I’m excited for your recipes and reviews. I trust your taste.

    Btw, is the crossing out of certain words and phrases intentional?

    Reply
  • 5. John  |  April 19, 2010 at 12:41 pm

    Congratulations,. Lara! I am looking forward to seeing what comes of this.

    Reply
  • 6. sixtimestheyum  |  April 19, 2010 at 6:34 pm

    Thanks for all of your support!

    Evee, yes, the crossing of words out is intentional. =) Most of the time its because of this: The crossed out part is what I’m actually thinking but may be embarrassing, weird, etc, so I cross it out and whatever comes afterwords is what I’d say if I were talking to someone or what may be more “normal”. (It’s kind of a writing style I have.) Does that may sense? Let me know if something ever needs to be clarified.

    Reply
  • 7. Jackie  |  April 19, 2010 at 11:19 pm

    Nice beginning post! I’m looking forward to hearing about all the yummy and healthy foods I can eat! This will definitely come in handy in my personal life. Thanks!!

    And great first entry, again… it made your blog-intention super clear, and I’m excited for the next post! Update soon! =D

    Reply
  • 8. Jackie  |  April 19, 2010 at 11:20 pm

    Oh, and WONDERFUL banner!! it’s so brilliant and eye catching! <333

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Recent Posts

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 3 other followers

Archives


