Checking In + Faking Freshly Baked

May 8, 2011 at 8:24 pm 12 comments

Hello Everyone!

(Natalie Dee)

Story of my life.

Sorry I haven’t posted in a while. I’ve been pretty busy. Well, sorta. My last day of classes was Thursday. Finals officially start on Tuesday, but my three finals are this Friday and Saturday. So, I have a week off to study and pack. The good news? Plenty of time to study and pack. The bad news? I’m not home.

I seriously cannot wait to get home! The suspense/wait is killing me. There are so many things I’m looking forward to at home: friends, family, home-sweet-home, home-cooked meals, eating at restaurants, relaxing, baking (!), and so much more! Of course, I’m seriously looking forward to anything food related!

I having a bit of a blogger’s block right now. All I can think about what I will make and blog about when I’m home but not here, right now in Boston. I’m also pretty busy studying and packing and doing other end-of-stay activities. So, this is me checking in. Hello! I fly home Saturday night, and I’ll have some new recipe posts soon after!

(Natalie Dee)

However, I don’t want to leave you now without anything food related. So here is a quick story and tip:

One food I’ve been missing with all my heart is freshly baked chocolate chip cookies. That fresh-out-of-the-oven flavor and texture (for one thing, because of the melted chocolate) seriously can’t be beat! Since I have no access to an oven here, I can’t get them here – except for the occasional Deep Dish Sundae from Uno Chicago Grill: vanilla ice cream, chocolate sauce and whipped cream atop a giant chocolate chip cookie freshly baked in a deep dish pan. All I can say is foodgasm x 100!!

Any who, I recently found a way to not only get that freshly-baked flavor in the comfort of my own dorm but also in a healthy way! All you need is a Larabar and a microwave. My favorite Larabar flavors for this are  Chocolate Chip Cookie Dough and Peanut Butter Chocolate. Chip.

(Source)

First, remove the wrapper from the Larabar and microwave the bar on a napkin or plate for about 15-20 seconds. Then, enjoy!

It’s as simple as that, but it makes an amazing treat! The bar gets warm and doughy, the chocolate chips get melty, and the Larabar goes from good to amazing! Tastes very much like a freshly baked cookie! I sometimes only microwave a small chunk at a time, so each bite is ‘freshly-baked.’

Question: What’s your favorite type of cookie? What’s your favorite type of Larabar?

Entry filed under: Bars, Chocolate, Cookies, Dessert, Peanut Butter, Quick & Easy. Tags: , , , , , , , .

Friday Favorites: April 29 Peanut Butter Chocolate Cheesecake

12 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Katie  |  May 10, 2011 at 10:42 am

    I love to microwave larabars too!!! Ha! I microwaved the blueberry one, it was so good!!

    Im glad you are done with finals girl and will be home to your family soon !

    Oh the sunwarrior scoop does get stuck all the way at the bottom, lol! I have had to dig for it before too!!

    have a great day!! xoxo

    Reply
    • 2. Lara @ six times the yum  |  May 11, 2011 at 11:34 am

      Great minds think alike! Yum, I’ve never microwaved the blueberry one, but I bet it’d taste like blueberry cobbler or something delish!!

      Reply
  • 3. pawsitivelife  |  May 10, 2011 at 6:17 pm

    So glad your back! I havnt tried that many larabars so I never microwaved them. I love anything cholocate cookies, cause Im a cholcolate kind a girl

    Reply
    • 4. Lara @ six times the yum  |  May 11, 2011 at 11:33 am

      Thanks girl! I’m not sure how good this would work with other Larabars, as I’ve never tried it, but I’m sure it’d work fine. I’m a chocolate girl too! I can’t go too long without it. :)

      Reply
  • 5. Jenny  |  May 14, 2011 at 7:08 pm

    I’ve never tried a larabar before :( They look yummy tho!

    Reply
    • 6. Lara @ six times the yum  |  May 15, 2011 at 11:00 pm

      They are seriously delicious! I definitely suggest you try one or make your own. (There are many recipes online and on blogs.) They have only a few ingredients and are wholly amazing!

      Reply
  • 7. czechvegan  |  May 15, 2011 at 4:32 am

    Sad but true – I have never tasted a Larabar, they just don´t sell them here:/ But my favourite cookies are any made of nuts and dried fruit and gingerbread cookies or anything with gingerbread flavour:)

    Reply
    • 8. Lara @ six times the yum  |  May 15, 2011 at 11:03 pm

      Yum, gingerbread!! I suggest you try making your own Larabars. There are so many recipes online and they only have a few ingredients and are no-bake (I think). :)

      Reply
      • 9. czechvegan  |  May 16, 2011 at 4:48 am

        Thanks for the tip!! I will definitely try to make some larabars, I am always a bit jealous when I see them all around the web:))

      • 10. Lara @ six times the yum  |  May 21, 2011 at 4:21 pm

        You’re welcome! Good luck!

  • 11. mindrunningwild  |  May 16, 2011 at 3:04 pm

    I actually have never had Larabars because I don’t do nuts, but I am a huge fan of any cookie with dried fruit and oats in it!

    Reply
    • 12. Lara @ six times the yum  |  May 21, 2011 at 4:20 pm

      Dried fruit + oats = the bomb! I used to hate oatmeal raisin cookies, but now I love them (as long as they’re not too sweet).

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Recent Posts

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 4 other followers

Archives


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

