California Dreaming: Avocados

April 27, 2011 at 9:22 pm 16 comments

T minus 17 days until I am back home in California!

Don’t get me wrong. I love Boston, college, my friends here,etc. However, I’m so excited to be finished with school and back home with my family, friends, and kitchen and to start my summer fun!

Although I’m German, I grew up in Northern California and have enjoyed all that California has to offer: the beautiful weather, glorious nature, and amazing, fresh food among so many other great things! California, especially the Bay Area (near San Francisco), is privileged with so much fresh produce. One of my favorite California-grown items are Avocados!

(Source)

Nutritionally, avocados get a (falsely given) bad rep because they are high in fat. However, the fat in avocados are actually really good fat. Here is some info from the The California Avocado Commission about the nutritional benefits of avocados: Avocados provide nearly 20 essential nutrients, including fiber, potassium, Vitamin E, B-vitamins and folic acid. They also act as a “nutrient booster” by enabling the body to absorb more fat-soluble nutrients, such as alpha and beta-carotene and lutein, in foods that are eaten with the fruit. In addition, avocados can help you meet the American Heart Association dietary guidelines because avocados have both monounsaturated and polyunsaturated fat (aka the good fat!) and contain potassium.

Click here for more about why the nutrients found in avocados are important. For nutritional information of avocados, click here.

As you can see, avocados are nutritional powerhouses that you should consider implementing in your diet (in moderation, of course, like all foods). In addition to being super tasty and healthy, avocados are surprisingly very versatile. While you may think avocados are always destined to become guacamole, you’re quite wrong. Creamy avocados are fabulous in both sweet and savory dishes. Inspired by Fitsugar‘s 10 Vegan Avocado Recipes article, I bring you (from the web) a few healthy recipes where avocados are the star of the show!

Please note: none of these recipes or photos are mine. They belong to the linked recipes and owners. :)

Easy Guacamole by Cooking Light:

Light and Fresh Avocado Cream Verrine by Angela from Oh She Glows: If you love guacamole, you’ll love this dish by Angela from Oh She Glows.

Great Avocado Smoothie Recipes by Be Well Buzz: The avocados make this super rich, creamy, and tasty!

15 Minute Creamy Avocado Pasta by Angela from Oh She Glows: Vegan yet oh-so-creamy! This is on the top of my savory dish to-make list when I get home!

Vegan Avocado Frozen Yogurt by One Hungry Mess: Perfect for the upcoming summer!

Choco-Cado Pudding by Gina from The Fitnessista: I’ve said it a few times, so I think you get the idea: avocados add amazing creaminess to dishes, especially this chocolate pudding! It’s one of the healthiest, tastiest chocolate puddings you’ll ever try.

Chilled Double Chocolate Cake by Angela of Oh She Glows: Um, drool!! This would be a great recipe to bring to a party, but don’t tell people right away about the ingredients. Then, when people rave about it and ask what’s your secret, you can say, Avocado!

Shrimp Tostadas with Avocado Salsa by Eclectic Recipes: A wonderful dish for a meal outside on a warm summer’s night! Sub with tostada with a corn or flour tortilla to increase the healthiness (less fat) and freshness.

Double Chocolate Avocado Muffins by Muffin Tin Mania: Thanks to these healthy muffins, you can get away with eating chocolate for breakfast!

Roasted Tomato and Avocado Toast (with Goat Cheese) by Running with Tweezers

Question: What’s your favorite avocado recipe?

One of my all time favorite dishes is freshly made guacamole. Whenever my family eats at Chevys (or another restaurant with a similar option), we often get table-side-made guacamole with chips. At home, I prefer making it myself then eating store-bought guacamole. There’s seriously nothing like freshly made guac!

Entry filed under: Breakfast, Dessert, Dinner, Recipe. Tags: , , , , , , .

Five Friday Favorites: April 22 Friday Favorites: April 29

16 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Jenny  |  April 27, 2011 at 10:26 pm

    I’ve been meaning to make that avocado pasta for a long time now but I always forget to get some nutritional yeast! :(

    Reply
    • 2. Lara @ six times the yum  |  April 28, 2011 at 10:32 am

      My lack of nutritional yeast prevented me from trying that recipe and a whole bunch of others ones, too, so I know where you’re coming from. :( Recently though, I bought a giant container of nutritional yeast on Amazon, so you may want to check that out. It’s fast and super easy. :)

      Reply
  • 3. Kristi  |  April 28, 2011 at 1:20 am

    I haven’t been that adventorous with avocado.. I usually make guacamole, or add it to salads or sandwiches.

    Reply
    • 4. Lara @ six times the yum  |  May 5, 2011 at 8:44 am

      Sounds delish! Sorry I didn’t respond to your comment until now. WordPress put yours in spam? Weird!! Sorry about that and thank you so much for the comment. I really appreciate it!!

      Reply
  • 5. Katie  |  April 28, 2011 at 8:36 am

    I love love love avocados!!!

    Loving all the recipe love on here with them!

    Did u look on the back of the sun warrior bag for measurement for one scoop?

    xoxo <3

    Reply
    • 6. Lara @ six times the yum  |  April 28, 2011 at 10:30 am

      I’m glad you love avocados and these recipes!! As for sun warrior, I only remember it saying 1 scoop = 21g (or something like that). However, I will double check if it says anything about cups when I get home. Also, I might as well just measure it out once with a scale, put that powder in a measuring cup, and see how much it is. :)

      Reply
  • 7. mindrunningwild  |  April 28, 2011 at 1:41 pm

    I don’t know…I just can’t seem to get on the avocado wagon. I think it’s the taste/texture. We had a foreign exchange student from indonesia my senior year of HS who used to like to eat it with chocolate sauce like ice cream!

    Reply
    • 8. Lara @ six times the yum  |  April 28, 2011 at 7:46 pm

      Thanks for being honest! I appreciate it! I can understand how avocado isn’t necessarily for everyone – due to flavor and texture. I’m like that with yogurt. Something about the texture and slight tang puts me off. I think it might be because I had a bad experience with it one. :) Avocado with chocolate sauce sounds.. interesting. Haha. I may just try it once to see how it tastes.

      Reply
  • 9. Katherine: Unemployed  |  April 29, 2011 at 4:49 am

    sweet dreams are made of these…. avacados are great! I’m a bare-bones guac lover

    Reply
    • 10. Lara @ six times the yum  |  April 29, 2011 at 10:23 am

      Haha. :) I also love guac on everything – salads, chips, wraps, and more! Thanks for the comment!

      Reply
  • 11. Georgia @ The Comfort of Cooking  |  April 29, 2011 at 1:29 pm

    I’m moving to Texas soon and will SO miss all the plump California avocados that crop up this time of year. This is a great assortment of avocado-inspired dishes and I want to try them all! Thanks for sharing. I’m so happy to have found your beautiful blog and am going to explore more of your recipes now! :)

    Reply
    • 12. Lara @ six times the yum  |  April 29, 2011 at 2:01 pm

      Aww, thank you so much for your sweet comments!! Good luck with the move! I would miss avocados too, but I’m sure Texas has great foods to offer. :)

      Reply
  • 13. Jen @ keepitsimplefoods  |  May 5, 2011 at 9:36 am

    Oooh all these recipes looks so yummy! Thanks for sharing!

    Reply
  • 15. czechvegan  |  May 6, 2011 at 7:20 am

    Mmmmmhhhh…avocados!!:) I love them. I like to put a few slices of avocado on a mana bread – delicious! And my avocado “cream” made of blended avocados, carob powder and walnuts is my favourite treat lately:)

    Reply
    • 16. Lara @ six times the yum  |  May 6, 2011 at 3:02 pm

      That all sounds amazing!! I love avocados on bread, too. It’s simple yet oh so yummy.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Recent Posts

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 4 other followers

Archives


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

